Product Review: Teva Hurricane XLT

DSCN0654

I’m not a hipster. I tend to steer clear of slacklines, fixies and strapping on sandals when I want to be served at a resturaunt. There are times (like almost 100 degree weather in the summer) when my feet want something that breathes a bit better than even my lightweight trail runners can give them; so I decided to give Teva (pronounced tay-vuh) a try.

I went over to Lewis and Clark Outfitters to try on a pair, and fell in love. My friends would say that Chaco is the only way to go, but I’m afraid they’re wrong. Chacos have always felt a little funny to me, and I heard it’s hard to clean them if they get muddy. The Tevas felt like they were built for my feet, and so far they’ve been easy to clean. Now let’s get a little technical.

Pros
They fit true to size. If you want to adjust them for wider feet, there are three points to cinch or loosen the velcro straps as needed. After a few games of ultimate frisbee (ok, maybe I’m a little hipster) and running around in general, I can say that they are durable. The soles grip well on rocks and dirt trails just as well as pavement. Some sandals make funny squeaking sounds on pavements, but that doesn’t seem to be the case with these.

Cons
The only annoying thing I’ve found so far is the little grooves where you feet touch the sole get dirty fairly fast. Easy enough to clean, but I wish they had found something different to do there.

All in all a great piece of footwear. I would recommend the Hurricane XLT for anything from daily wanderings to throwing into your pack for basecamp.

Price: 60 USD

Website: Teva

4156-WTIB_1

4156-WTIB_5

By James Kennedy

You can follow me on twitter

Leave a Reply

